May 25, 2024

Google Open Source Peer Bonus

avatar

Rotimi Best

Founder

best
Our announcement flyer of the Google Open Source Peer Bonus

I started my open source journey in October of 2023 by working on Formbricks. It was the first time I got to really work on a project that was used by hundreds of people and at the same time the code was public for everyone to see.

Later in November, a project I have been working on for over 3 years got accepted into an open source program by the amazing Codacy called Codacy Pioneers. Where they provide open source contributors with financial support, training from mentors and access to their suite of tools.

After I made ClassroomIO open source, a lot of people helped us get traction from the community and soon enough we got noticed by several educators in the community.

What is the Google Open Source Peer Bonus?

I will quote the official documentation by Google:

In the same way that a Google Peer Bonus is used to recognize a fellow Googler who has gone above and beyond, an Open Source Peer Bonus recognizes external people who have made exceptional contributions to open source. Googlers can nominate contributors who they feel deserve our recognition (and some cash)!

I want to use this opportunity to thank Ada Nduka Oyom for reaching out to me and recommending ClassroomIO internally at Google to receive the Google Open Source Peer Bonus.

I received the award letter this week and the official blog post will be made on their website in the coming weeks.

bonus-letter
OS Peer Bonus H1 2024 - Best Ibitoye-Rotimi - OSPB Award Letter

As regards the financial bonus, I have no idea how much Google is giving out to each person that was selected however we’ve been told to setup a Pionner account and in few days the payout will be made. Once I receive it, I will share exactly how much we received 😉.

Sponsorship

Google

Back to all posts
classroomio logo

Launch Your Online Bootcamp In Minutes
The easiest way to launch and scale your online bootcamp

All rights reserved.

ClassroomIO © 2024 by Rotimi Best from Nigerian Flag